top of page

Balenciaga: Shaping fashion exhibition

To celebrate my anniversary of 1 year out of hospital (woo!) my family and I went down to London to see the Balenciaga exhibition, which is on at the V&A, South Kensington.

The exhibition itself was amazing, informative and included some of the most beautiful dresses i have ever seen. I was interested in going because i have really been liking Balenciaga's recent collections, especially Fall 2017, and Spring 2018; but also my most of my fashion inspiration comes from the 50s, such as Audrey Hepburn and Grace Kelly, and it was in 1950 that Balenciaga pioneered radical designs and shapes in ladies fashion, that have essentially shaped the style we know today.

The exhibition included Balenciaga's early work, his history, his more recent work, and pieces inspired by his bold shapes and designs. I have included a few of my favourite pieces below from the exhibition, and then a few pictures of the museum as a whole.

This baby pink ensemble was one of my favourite pieces. Admittedly, yes i wouldn't wear it, but the amount of effort to create the frills and how precise the piece is makes me love it. Balenciaga was known for creating new shapes, and this is certainly no exception.

This piece was another one of my favourites. The dress had a classy v-neck and was pulled in at the waist, making a classic 50s style midi dress in a flattering floral print.

The grand staircase was cool so i couldn't resist a candid pic :)

This dress is by Oscar de la Renta, and i can honestly say it is the most gorgeous thing i have ever seen and of course, i fell in love it. I love how the detail of the embroidery over the top of the organza makes such a delicate and pretty look.

Overall, I really recommend this exhibition. Unfortunately, it isn't free, it is £11 for students, £12 for adults, but trust me, it is so worth it!

Please subscribe for more posts every Sunday x

bottom of page